© Erich Lessing, May 1955, Vienna / Austria

The Austrian State Treaty, which brought an end to the Allied occupation of Austria, was signed on 15 May 1955, in the presence of five foreign ministers: John Foster Dulles for the United States, Harold Macmillan for Great Britain, Antoine Pinay for France, Vyacheslav Molotov for the Soviet Union, and Leopold Figl for Austria. It officially came into force on July 27, 1955 and re-established Austria as a sovereign state. (+)

» find more of Magnum Photos here «